The part of our planet referred to as Indochina is a geographical region of Southeast Asia. It occupies the easternmost region of the Indochinese Peninsula, on land located directly east of Thailand, and south of China.

It was originally comprised of the French colony of Cochin, China, and the French protectorates of Annam and Tonkin (later united with Cochin to form Vietnam); Cambodia (formerly Kampuchea), Laos and Vietnam.

Formed in 1887, its capital city was Hanoi, but this French Indochina federation of countries only lasted into the mid-1950s.
After the events of World War II, and the end of Japanese influence in southeast Asia, and later, after the defeat of the French in 1954 by the Vietnamese, this area of the world changed dramatically.

Then, after the agreements reached at the Geneva Convention between China, France, Russia, the United States of America and the United Kingdom, France relinquished any claims on the area, and all three countries in question went on to become independent nations, and remain that to this day.


Click here for Indochina Tours

Fact File

CapitalWas Hanoi

LanguageVietnamese in Vietnam, Khmer in Cambodia, Lao Dialect in Laos

ClimateSee individual country factfiles

CurrencyVietnamese Dong (Vietnam), Riel (Cambodia) and Lao Kip (Laos)

VisaSee individual country factfiles

HealthSee individual country factfiles

PassportsPassports MUST be valid for more than six months after proposed date of departure

Time ZoneGMT +7 Hours